Saint Lucia is one in the chain of islands situated between North and South America, which make up the Caribbean. It is a subgroup of the Windward Islands and is located between 60 and 61 degrees West longitude, and 13 and 14 degrees North latitude. Its closest neighbors are the French island of Martinique 21 miles to the north, St. Vincent and the Grenadines 24 miles to the south, and Barbados 100 miles on its north-eastern side. It is surrounded by the Caribbean Sea and the Atlantic ocean.

Saint Lucia was first inhabited by the Amerindians (Kalinago) for about 800 years. They made it very difficult for the early Europeans to settle on the island. The Amerindians named the island “Ianoula” which according to Dominican missionary Pere Raymond Breton means “There where the iguana is found”. The name eventually evolved to “Hewanorra” until Spanish explorers named it "Sancta Lucia" after Saint Lucy of Syracuse.


In 1650 the French purchased the island and settled there in 1651. The French were able to ward off attacks by the Caribs and the colony increased. In 1659, the English arrived and tried to take over the island with claims that they were entitled to it because of their earlier attempt at colonization. They were eventually defeated. However, this was the beginning of a fight between the French and the British over Saint Lucia which lasted for 150 years. During that period Saint Lucia changed hands fourteen times; seven times British and seven times French. As a result of these battles, the island became known as “The Helen of the West Indies” after the legend of Helen of Troy. Saint Lucia  was finally surrendered to Britain by the French in 1814.

Capital: Castries

Currency: East Caribbean dollar

Population: 183,000 (2019 est.) 

Government: Constitutional monarchy, Parliamentary system

Independence: 22 February 1979 (from the UK)

Official Language: English

Religion: Predominantly Roman Catholic (61% of the population)

Climate: Tropical 

Motto: The Land, The People, The Light

National Anthem: "Sons and Daughters of St. Lucia" *

Download Country Profile

*The National anthem first adopted in 1967 upon achieving self-government, and confirmed as the official anthem upon independence in 1979.

Country Profile

National Flag and Coat of Arms

The National flag of Saint Lucia consists of three superimposed triangles of gold, black, and white over blue background. The triangles mimic the shape of the Pitons (a National Landmark), and the colours speak to the following:


Cerulean blue: Tropical sky and blue emerald sea waters. it also symbolizes fidelity

Gold: Sunshine and prosperity

Black and White: Influence of black and white cultures, and racial harmony. The larger black section

over the white indicates the dominance of black influence

This Coat of Arms is the official seal of the government of Saint Lucia and represents the country’s past, present, and future.


Brief description

Tudor Rose: Represents England which was our mother country

Fleur d’lisle: Period of French control

Cross on the shield made from bamboo: the National plant

African stool: A reminder that the first black inhabitants came from Africa

Torch: The beacon of light for our path

Saint Lucian Parrot: Amazona Versicolor: the National bird

National Motto (printed at the bottom of the shield):

The Land, The People, The Light

–The Land: A rich natural resource.

–The People: Different races of the country.

–The Light: The sunlight and wisdom of the people.